Monday, February 26News That Matters

About Jhapa District

About Jhapa

Jhapa is the easternmost district of Nepal. The eastern border of Jhapa touches West Bengal of India. The north border touches the Ilam district. Morang district in the west and Bihar of India in the south. Nepal’s most famous checkpoint Kakarvitta lies in this district. The name of the Jhapa district is taken from Rajvanshi’s word. Which means to cover and protect others. The area of ​​the Jhapa district is 1606 square kilometers. There are 15 administrative divisions in this district. Among these, there are eight municipalities and 7 villages. This district’s religious historical places are Kankai Mai, Kichhak Badh, Arjun Dhara, Chillagad, Biratpokhari, and Sukhani Park. The major river ​​in this district is the Mechi river, Kankai Khola, Ratua, Biring, Duniya, Hadiya, and Krishna Khola. The lowest area of ​​Nepal is the Jhapa district. Jhapa district is the district with the largest number of ethnic groups in Nepal. Out of 126 castes in Nepal, 110 castes live in the Jhapa district.

Administrative Divisions

There are 15 administrative divisions in this district. Among these, there are eight municipalities and 7 villages.


There are 8 municipalities in Jhapa district.  They are:-

  • Mechinagar Municipality
  • Bhadrapur Municipality
  • Birtamod Municipality
  • Arjundhara Municipality
  • Kankai Municipality
  • Shivasatakshi Municipality
  • Gauradaha Municipality
  • Damak Municipality

Rural Municipalities

The rural municipalities of jhapa districts are as follow:

  • Buddhashanti Rural Municipality
  • Haldibari Rural Municipality
  • Kachankawal Rural Municipality
  • Barhadashi Rural Municipality
  • Jhapa Rural Municipality
  • Gauriganj Rural Municipality
  • Kamal Rural Municipality


According to the 2068 census report, the total population of the district is 812,650. The district is the fifth most populated district of Nepal. 

1Nepali (lingua franca)453,53655.82%

Famous Religious Places in Jhapa District


Similarly, the name that comes to mind when we talk about religious places in the district is Satasidham. It is in Shivasatakshi Municipality. 

It is also called the second Janakpurdham of Nepal. A grand fair is held here on the day of Bala Chaturdashi. The lake, cave, and garden here are the center of attraction. Pandava Gardens, Draupadi Lake, Pandubi Kund, and Parvati Cave are the main attractions here.

Arjundhara Dham

Similarly, the second name comes ArjundharaDham. The Arjundhara Dham is in Birtamode municipalities. There are 7 ponds of different sizes in the Dham. Where King Virat of Mahabharata came to quench his thirst.

General information and Unique things about the district

Jhapa is a district located in the Mechi zone of Nepal. It is one of 14 districts in the country. Jhapa is the easternmost district of Nepal and lies in the Terai plain. It shares a border with the Indian state of Bihar to the south and west and with West Bengal to the east. 

The district has an area of 1,606 square kilometers and a population of 812,650 (2011 census). The headquarters of the district is located in Chandragadhi. 

The climate in Jhapa is tropical with a hot season from March to June and a cool season from October to February. The average annual rainfall is 2,500 millimeters. 

Rice is the main crop grown in Jhapa. Other crops include jute, sugarcane, tobacco, maize, wheat, ginger, onion, garlic, mustard seed, soya bean, and cowpea. 

The district is home to several religious and cultural sites such as Ganga Mai Temple, Hanuman Temple, Siddheshwor Mahadev Temple, Kali temple, Jagannath Temple, Durga temple, etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *